Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Call for Entries: Vodacom Journalism Awards 2016 for South African Journalists

Brief description: Vodacom is very proud to honour the kind of journalism on which ongoing dialogue and the wellbeing of humankind both depend.

Application Deadline: 4th August, 2016

Offered annually? Yes

Eligible Countries: South Africa

To be taken at (country): South Africa

Eligible Categories: TV, Radio, Financial/Economic, Sport, Young Journalist, Online, Sustainability, Photography, Print

About the Award: Today in the age of constant mobile connection, journalism’s role of telling the stories that elicit vibrant conversation is more important than ever, because the full positive potential of dynamic interconnection and the sharing of ideas, which online and social media present, can only be realised by elevated public awareness that only great journalism creates.

The stories worth telling, can and must be told. They are the seeds of informed human discussion – promoting progress and driving change by stimulating ongoing dialogue and civic responsibility around the globe.

Type: Contest


  • There is no fee to enter the awards. Any entry not fulfilling the criteria stated herein may be disqualified.
  • All material must have been published or broadcast between 1 May 2015 and 30 May 2016. Entries close at 6pm on 4 August 2016.
  • Proof of publication or broadcast date must be supplied.
  • The content of entries must predominantly cover South African issues. Entries must be produced as well as published/broadcast in South Africa.
  • It is the entrant’s responsibility to ensure entries are legible, audible and/or viewable.
  • A maximum of three entries per category will be accepted from one individual. Applications containing more than three submissions will be disqualified. For the Feature, Specialist, Online and Photography categories, a body of work may be submitted as one entry but must cover only one subject.
  • An entry must be submitted for only one category, e.g. a specific piece may be submitted for either feature or general news, or online or CSI/Sustainability, but not both.
  • Those entering the Young Journalist category must enter as individuals and must have worked in any newsroom for three years or less. They must submit a portfolio of work (maximum three pieces from within the competition period) together with a strong motivation and a CV. They may not enter any other VJOY categories in the same year. Regional winners will receive a certificate and become finalists for the national Young Journalist Award.
  • The judges reserve the right to move any submission to another category should it be deemed appropriate.
  • All journalists and editors wishing to submit entries must register on the Vodacom Journalist of the Year website before submitting their entry. Editors may enter work on behalf of their journalists but must clearly record the name and contact details of the journalist and/or contributing journalists.
  • An entry with multiple contributors may be submitted (except for Young Journalist) only if the name of each contributing journalist and/or producer appears on the by-line of the piece entered. The name and contact details of each contributor must then accompany the submission in the credits section of the registration process. Multiple contributors to a winning entry will share any prize equally, whether at regional or national level.
  • Submissions must be entered in the Vodacom region where published or broadcast. A piece which is published or broadcast nationally must be entered in the region closest to the journalist’s offices.
  • An entry may not be submitted in more than one region (View regional map), i.e. a piece cannot be submitted for Gauteng and the Western Cape.
  • Entrants must submit background information and a motivation to the judges as to why they believe the submitted material deserves to win – this is essential for all entries. Include, for example, a description of circumstances and challenges aecting the story’s development such as volume of research and/or investigation, time, safety and/or financial constraints, as well as an account of any impact the story might have had.
  • Every entry in each category is eligible for the Regional Awards, provided it complies with all requirements in this list of criteria.
  • All Regional Award winners (including the Young Journalist category) will automatically become finalists for the National Award in that category. Winners of National Awards (except Young Journalist category) will automatically become finalists for the overall Journalist of the Year Award.

Number of Awardees: The overall Journalist of the Year Award will be given to one of the 11 national category winners (i.e. excluding Young Journalist).

Value of Contest: The regional winners in all categories will win R5 000 then move on to compete in the National Awards in November. National winners in each category receive R10 000 and the overall national winner of the Vodacom Journalist of the Year will win a handsome prize of R100 000.

How to Apply: All entrants must first register online, giving their personal details and information on the piece/s they are submitting. Entries may then be submitted to Vodacom in one of three ways:

  • Online
  • Drop-off
  • Submission

For all entries uploaded online through the VJOY website, it is compulsory to provide proof, including date, of publication or broadcast; name(s) and contact details of the journalist(s) whose work is entered; together with a motivation giving background to producing the work and any impact it might have had.

All entries uploaded online must adhere to required technical specifications listed on the Webpage.

The maximum upload size of a file is 400MB.

For a comprehensive method of submission:

Visit Contest Webpage for details

Award Provider: Vodacom

Comments are closed.