Australia Awards Fellowships 2023/2024 for Developing countries

Spread the love

Australia engages with developing countries at government, business, professional, and community levels. Australia Awards Fellowships offer Australian organisations, from all sectors, the opportunity to deepen and broaden their links with leaders and professionals in developing countries. Australia Awards Fellowships for Students from Africa, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, the Caribbean and the Middle East

Application Deadline: Round 18 Australia Awards Fellowships closes on 23rd January 2023. | Offered annually? Yes

Get Up to $100,000 Student Loan for Your Master in US or Canada - See if you are eligible

Got Admission to Study in US or Canada? See if you are eligible for international student loan

Scholarship Name: Australian Awards Fellowship [formerly Australian Leadership Awards Fellowships]

Eligible Field of Study: Australian Awards Fellowship supports various areas and sectors. Australian organizations are encouraged to design programs that address priority areas, including disability and development, economic growth, education, environment, food security, gender, governance, health, human rights, infrastructure, regional stability, rural development and water and sanitation

About Scholarship

Australian Leadership Awards Fellowship [now Australian Awards Fellowships] aim to develop leadership, address priority regional development issues, and build partnerships and linkages between Australian organizations and partner organizations in developing countries in the Asia-Pacific region, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and the Middle East. ALA Fellowships are awarded twice yearly through a competitive selection process.

Through Australian Awards Fellowships, Australian organizations have the opportunity to build and strengthen links with organizations in developing countries by offering professional development opportunities in Australia.

Scholarship Offered Since: Not specified

Scholarship Type: Postgraduate fellowship

Selection Criteria and Eligibility

***Applications are accepted from Australian organizations only; individuals are not eligible to apply

  • Applications are restricted to Australian organizations (NGOs, academic institutions, research organizations, business, industry, media, professional associations and Government agencies) that can demonstrate ongoing linkages with overseas counterpart organizations in eligible countries.
  • Overseas counterpart organizations and individual fellows must be sponsored by an Australian organisation, and may not apply directly for a Fellowship. They may, however, initiate contact with an Australian organisation to explore the latter’s interest in applying for Fellowship funding.
  • Prospective fellows identified by Australian organizations must be from one of the eligible countries listed below.

Typically, they will be professionals already in leadership positions or have the potential to assume leadership roles that can influence social and economic policy reform and development outcomes.

Number of Scholarships: Not specified

Value of Scholarship: Grant funding of up to $25,000 per Fellow is offered on a competitive basis to Australian organisations to support a range of professional development activities.

Duration of Scholarship: Not specified

Changes to Round 16

Please note the following new features in Round 16:

  • Australian organisations may request additional funding of up to $10,000 for bilateral Fellowships and $20,000 for multilateral Fellowships to conduct eligible follow-up activities in the partner country or regions.
    • Fellows participating in follow-up activities in their home countries will be required to complete the Fellows Completion Survey in two parts.
  • DFAT will pilot offering support to Australian organisations establishing new links where the applicant has demonstrated a strong understanding of the country and context in which they propose to work.
  • Two new themes have been added to the list of development issues:
    • Innovation and Science fellowships, which advance the Australian Government’s National Innovation and Science Agenda through international exchange to promote links between research and institutions and businesses; and
    • Tropical Health and Medical Research.
  • The maximum number of nominated Fellows per Fellowship is 15.
  • The maximum cost per Fellows has been capped at $25,000.
  • Grant recipients must have the capacity to complete the Activity Completion Report (ACR)/grant acquittal within 45 days of the Fellowship concluding.
    • Late submissions will receive a penalty score in future funding rounds.
  • All Fellows must sign and return a Child Protection Code of Conduct attached to their Acceptance of Award letter of offer.

Eligible Countries: Fellows who are citizens of the following countries are eligible to be nominated for participation by the applying Australian organisation:

Asia Pacific

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, East Timor, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Kiribati, Laos, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, Wallis & Futuna.

Latin America and Caribbean

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.


Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo (Republic), Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia.
Iraq and Palestinian Territories
Applications relating to Iraq and the Palestinian Territories are also eligible.

To be taken at (country): Australian Universities

How to Apply

For more details about the fellowship submission guideline, application form, sample budget, how to apply and other required documents visit AA Fellowship webpage

Sponsors: Australian Government


  • After School Africa is the go-to source for young and ambitious people looking to explore opportunities for education, development and relevance.

Leave a Comment