United Nations International Organisation for Migration (IOM) Global Migration Film Festival 2018

Spread the love

The UN Migration Agency (IOM) is inviting professional and emerging filmmakers to submit perception-changing films about the migrant experience for the second annual Global Migration Film Festival 

Application Deadline: 21st June 2018.

Eligible Countries: 92 Selected Countries. See List below

To Be Taken At (Country): Switzerland

Festival Theme: The promise and challenge of migration, and the positive contributions migrants make to their new communities.

Get Up to $100,000 Student Loan for Your Master in US or Canada - See if you are eligible

Got Admission to Study in US or Canada? See if you are eligible for international student loan

About the Award: The Global Migration Film Festival showcases films that capture the promise and challenges of migration for those who leave their homes in search of a better life and the unique contributions migrants make to their new communities.

In 2016, the inaugural festival took place in 89 countries. Nearly 10,000 people attended 220 screenings at cinemas, universities, cultural institutions and other venues. The festival hosted 13 films and documentaries, as well as 200 short films about and by migrants.

Type: Contests/Awards


  • Professional filmmakers working in all genres are invited to submit films of at least 25 minutes in length for consideration.
  • Emerging filmmakers from 92 select countries are invited to submit films of at least 25 minutes in length for both the festival and a competition.  A committee of international film professionals will select three standout productions, and each winner will receive USD 1,500.
  • Filmmakers from 92 select countries who have migrated in their lifetime are invited to submit a short video about their own experience, or a profile of other migrants, to become part of IOM’s global i am a migrant campaign. These videos will also be considered for screening at the 2017 film festival.
  • Festival locations, dates and selected films will be announced in October 2017.

Number of Awards: 3

Value of Award: Winners will receive USD 1,500 each

Duration of Program:  Global Migration Film Festival will hold 28 November – 18 December 2018

Eligible Countries:

  • Africa: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Eritrea,Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar,Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Togo, Tunisia, Zimbabwe,
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Lucia, Suriname
  • Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Fiji, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon slands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Viet Nam.
  • Europe: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Montenegro, Republic of Moldova, Serbia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine.
  • Middle East: Yemen, Jordan


Visit the Program Webpage for Details

Award Providers: The Global Migration Film Festival is a partner of Plural+ and the UN campaign, TOGETHER, which aim to change negative perceptions and attitudes towards refugees and migrants.

Leave a Comment