University College London (UCL) Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2019/2020 for Developing Commonwealth Countries

Spread the love

 The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme, in joint partnership with University College London (UCL) is offering Masters students from developing Commonwealth countries the opportunity to study in the UK.

Application Deadline: 14th March 2019

Eligible Countries: Developing Commonwealth Countries

To Be Taken At (Country): UK

About the Award: The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (with funding from the Department for International Development (DFID), and UK universities, to support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.

Get Up to $100,000 Student Loan for Your Master in US or Canada - See if you are eligible

Got Admission to Study in US or Canada? See if you are eligible for international student loan

Awards are for taught Master’s programmes only, subjects must be related to the economic, social and technological development of a candidate’s country.

Fields of Study: 

  • Department of Chemistry

    • MSc Materials for Energy and Environment
  • Institute for Global Health

    • MSc Global Health and Development
    • MSc Health Economics and Decision Science
  • Institute for Global Prosperity
    • MSc Global Prosperity
  • Institute for Risk and Disaster Reduction (Earth Sciences)
    • MSc Risk, Disaster, and Resilience
  • Institute of Education

    • MA Education and International Development
    • MA Education, Gender and International Development
    • MA Education, Health Promotion and International Development
    • MA Educational Planning, Economics and International Development
  • Development Planning Unit
    • MSc Development Administration and Planning

Type: Masters (taught)

Eligibility: Applicants must:

  • Be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country (for a full list of eligible countries, see the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission terms and conditions
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2019
  • By August 2019, hold a first degree of either first or upper second class (2:1) classification, or lower second class (2:2) classification plus a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a developed country
  • Be unable, either yourself or through your family, to pay to study in the UK
  • Apply for admission to UCL for one of the eligible programmes above

Number of Awards: UCL will allocate up to ten awards this academic year.

Value of Award: The award will cover tuition fees, a maintenance allowance, economy air travel to and from the UK at the beginning and end of the scholar’s degree programme plus additional discretionary allowances.

Duration of Program: Awards are normally tenable for one year.

How to Apply: 

  • You must separately apply for admission to UCL for one of the eligible programmes through the standard admissions procedure.
  • In order to be considered for this scholarship at UCL, you must complete the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission Electronic Application System (EAS) online: by the deadline of 14 March 2019.
  • All applications received before the deadline will be considered. If an application is received after this deadline it will not be deemed eligible and cannot be considered.

Visit the Program Webpage for Details

Leave a Comment