Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Browsing Tag

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Developing Countries

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (with funding from the Department for International Development (DFID), and UK universities, to support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries. These scholarships are for candidates from least developed and lower middle income Commonwealth countries, for full-time Master’s study on selected courses, jointly supported by UK universities.

This scholarship, which is funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), are available for talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development and are aimed majorly for the category of people who cannot afford to study in the UK.

Intended beneficiaries

High-quality postgraduate students who have not studied extensively overseas before, who would not otherwise have the opportunity to study in the UK, and who have the potential to enhance the development of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered for selected taught full-time Master’s courses. Please see the ‘applicable courses’ section below. These scholarships do not cover PhD study, or any pre-sessional English language teaching.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Universities

  1. Aberystwyth University
  2. Bangor University
  3. Bath Spa University
  4. Brunel University London
  5. City University London
  6. Coventry University
  7. Cranfield University
  8. Durham University
  9. Goldsmiths University of London
  10. Imperial College London
  11. King’s College London
  12. Liverpool Hope University
  13. Liverpool John Moores University
  14. London School of Economics and Political Science
  15. London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  16. Newcastle University
  17. Nottingham Trent University
  18. Oxford Brookes University
  19. Queen Margaret University
  20. Queen Mary, University of London
  21. Queen’s University Belfast
  22. Royal Holloway, University of London
  23. Royal Veterinary College
  24. Sheffield Hallam University
  25. SOAS, University of London
  26. St Mary’s University
  27. University College London
  28. University of Aberdeen
  29. University of Bath
  30. University of Birmingham
  31. University of Bristol
  32. University of Cambridge
  33. University of Chester
  34. University of East Anglia
  35. University of Edinburgh
  36. University of Exeter
  37. University of Glasgow
  38. University of Kent
  39. University of Leeds
  40. University of Leicester
  41. University of Lincoln
  42. University of Nottingham
  43. University of Oxford
  44. University of Portsmouth
  45. University of Reading
  46. University of Salford
  47. University of Southampton
  48. University of St Andrews
  49. University of Stirling
  50. University of Strathclyde
  51. University of Sussex (Institute of Development Studies)
  52. University of the West of England
  53. University of Warwick
  54. University of Wolverhampton

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Eligible Courses – Categorized Under Six Themes

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting global prosperity
  4. Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion and opportunity

Eligible Candidates

To apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2020
  • By September 2020, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification.
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • And lastly, be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

Eligible Commonwealth countries

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia

Application Criteria for Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • The potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country


The award will cover:

  • Tuition fees
  • Maintenance allowance
  • Economy air travel to and from the UK
  • Plus additional discretionary allowances.

This award usually tenable for one year.

Application Procedure

  • You must apply for the scholarship on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission Electronic Application System (EAS) online following the procedures described on their website.