Be a true explorer

European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Program for International Researchers 2018

The Programme welcomes applications worldwide from promising young scholars (postdoc) as well as from leading senior researchers.

There is no EURIAS Fellowship Program for 2019/2020.

Application Deadline: 7th June, 2017 (4 pm GMT)

Eligible Countries: International

To be taken at (country): The Netherlands, UK, Germany, France, Hungary, Finland, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Denmark, Israel, Poland

About the Award: The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Programme is an international researcher mobility programme offering 10-month residencies in one of the 19 participating Institutes: Aarhus, Amsterdam, Berlin, Bologna, Budapest, Cambridge, Delmenhorst, Edinburgh, Freiburg, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Lyon, Madrid, Marseille, Paris, Uppsala, Vienna, Warsaw, Zürich. The Institutes for Advanced Study support the focused, self-directed work of outstanding researchers. The fellows benefit from the finest intellectual and research conditions and from the stimulating environment of a multi-disciplinary and international community of first-rate scholars.

EURIAS Fellowships are mainly offered in the fields of the humanities and social sciences but may also be granted to scholars in life and exact sciences, provided that their proposed research project does not require laboratory facilities and that it interfaces with humanities and social sciences. The diversity of the 19 participating IAS offers a wide range of possible research contexts in Europe for worldwide scholars. Applicants may select up to three IAS outside their country of nationality or residence as possible host institutions.

Type: Fellowship


  • Degree: At the time of the application, researchers must be in possession of a doctoral degree plus 2 years of full-time research experience after the degree. Exception is made for Law scholars who are eligible with a Master +6 years of full-time research experience after the degree. (PhD training is not considered in the calculation of experience).
  • Mobility: Researchers from all countries are eligible to the programme. At the time of the application, researchers must not have resided or carried out their main activity (work, studies, etc) in the country of the selected host institute for more than 12 months in the 3 years immediately prior to the reference date -June 7th 2017 (short stays such as holidays and/or compulsory national service are not taken into account).
  • Disciplines: The programme is open to all disciplines in the fields of humanities and social sciences. It also welcomes applications from the arts, life and exact sciences provided that:
    • the research project does not require any intensive laboratory work,
    • the research project interfaces with humanities and social sciences,
    • the applicant has a proven capacity to dialogue with other scientific disciplines,
    • the candidate applies to an IAS that welcome scholars outside the humanities and social sciences.
  • Applicants are strongly encouraged to check the IAS’ websites to learn more about the scientific orientation of the Institutes and their potential opening to disciplines outside the humanities and social sciences.
  • Age: There is no age discrimination.
  • Administrative: Applicants must provide full application forms, curricula, PhD diploma, publications, two letters of recommendation for junior applicants, detailed research proposals. Incomplete applications are not considered.
    Late applications are not considered (the online application platforms prevents applicants from submitting after the deadline)

Selection Criteria: The selection of applicants who are eligible for a fellowship is competitive, merit-based and conducted through an internationally independent and recognized peer review process. It meets the highly demanding excellence standards of the participating Institutes for Advanced Study.

The EURIAS Fellowship Programme undertakes a detailed qualitative assessment according to the following criteria:

  • Scientific excellence of the applicant:
  • Quality of the research proposal:
  • Relevance of an IAS residency:

Selection Procedure

– Scientific assessment by two international reviewers
– Pre-selection by the international EURIAS Scientific Committee
– Final selection by the IAS academic boards
– Publication of results (January 2018)

Number of Awards: For the 2018-2019 academic year, EURIAS offers 54 fellowships (26 junior and 28 senior positions).

Value of Program: All IAS have agreed on common standards, including the provision of a living allowance (in the range of € 26,000 for a junior fellow and € 38,000 for a senior fellow), accommodation (or a mobility allowance), a research budget, plus coverage of travel expenses.

How to Apply: Applications are submitted online via, where you will find detailed information regarding the content of the application, eligibility criteria, selection procedure, etc.

Visit Program Webpage for details

Award Provider: European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS)

Watch Interesting Videos from Our Channel
You might also like

Got Something to Say? Leave a comment