Deadline Extended: Commonwealth Education Good Practice Awards 2020 to Reward Exceptional Education Projects

Spread the love

The Commonwealth Secretariat is pleased to invite nominations and submissions for the Commonwealth Education Good Practice Awards 2018. 

Application Deadline: 31st August 2020. (extended from 30th June 2020)

Get Up to $100,000 Student Loan for Your Master in US or Canada - See if you are eligible

Got Admission to Study in US or Canada? See if you are eligible for international student loan

Eligible Countries: Countries of the Commonwealth

To be taken at (country): Fiji. Winners will be awarded at the 20th Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers (20CCEM) in Fiji in 2018.

Eligible Category:

  1. Rethinking education for innovation
  2. Rethinking education for work
  3. Rethinking education sustainability
  4. Education as pathways to peace
  5. Education for inclusion
  6. Commonwealth outstanding teacher or school leader

About the Award: The Awards recognise the outstanding contribution and achievements of education professionals and bodies that have made a difference to learners’ lives through innovative education and learning for development initiatives and practices.

The Fifth Commonwealth Education Good Practice Awards were launched at the Secretariat’s headquarters to invite applicants from Commonwealth countries to highlight their good practices in education and to encourage, reward and generate enthusiasm within the education sector.

Any organisation, whether public or private, including Commonwealth ministries of education, educational institutions and civil society organisations advising in or delivering education and learning in Commonwealth countries can nominate themselves or be nominated. The formal and non-formal education sectors span from early childhood education to adult education, including primary, secondary and tertiary education, technical and vocational education and training, and skills development.

A good practice submission must be a policy, programme, project or strategy that has made a positive difference to learners, whether children, young people or adults, or to the education system of a Commonwealth member country in respect of one or more of the five categories for 2018.

Type: Award

Eligibility: Educators must be Commonwealth citizens and projects must be running in at least one of the 54 member countries.

Entries must be received by 6pm GMT on 31 August 2020 from:

  • a teacher or school leader who has shown outstanding leadership or contribution to improving teaching and learning; and
  • a public or private organisation, including ministries, education bodies and non-profits, whose learning project has made a positive impact on learners. The project must be running for at least 12 months.

Set up in 2006, the awards recognise educators and projects, which have made a positive impact on students, teachers or the national education system.

Selection: Entries should be clear and comprehensive, and should clearly describe how good educational and learning policies or practices have been implemented and what has been achieved.

Value of Award: 

  • A pan-Commonwealth panel will judge the entries. Two winners for an outstanding educator and an innovative project will be shortlisted across the six categories.
  • The winners will be funded to travel to the Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers in Kenya next year to receive their awards and showcase their work to ministers, senior officials, policy experts, practitioners, teachers and students.
  • Entries will be scored on their relevance to the local context, measurable impact, sustainability and innovation, efficiency and effectiveness, community involvement, and ability to be replicated.
  • This year, the awards focus on seeking entries that have worked towards addressing barriers to providing quality education for all, including marginalised groups.

How to Apply: Send in your entry for the 2021 Commonwealth Education Awards now.

Visit Award Webpage for details

Leave a Comment