Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Browsing Tag

journalism award

Journalism Award is a form of award to people that tells about things that really happened through their writing. Those who are engaged in the work of journalism are called journalists. Journalists have an opportunity to reflect on their works and awards are given to the best in their categories.

Categories of Journalism Awards

Some of the categories include:

  • Breaking news.
  • Gather awards in Engaged journalism.
  • Excellence in collaborations and partnerships.
  • Explanatory reporting.
  • Online commentary
  • Students journalism Awards.
  • Digital Video Story-telling.
  • Excellence and Innovation in Digital Story-telling.

The most prestigious journalism awards include:

  1. Fetisov Journalism Awards

The Fetisov Journalism Awards promotes universal human values such as honesty, justice, courage and nobility through examples.

The awards are in four categories:

  • Outstanding contribution to peace;
  • Contribution to civil rights;
  • Outstanding investigative reporting; and
  • Excellence in environmental journalism

Three winners in each category share a cash prize of CHF130,000. This is the biggest prize in the history of international journalism.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applications must be submitted by representatives (members) of professional journalism organisations.
  • Self-nominations are possible for representatives of professional journalism.
  • Maximum of three journalists from one journalism organization can be nominated for participations.
  • A submission form must be filled out by a representative of a registered organization.
  • Films, videos and audio recordings are not accepted.
  • All publications must be provided in English. Publications in other languages can be accepted if they are accompanied by an English translation.
  • Materials published in printed media and posted on media websites will be accepted.

Fetisov organizes this annual competition in order to promote and reward outstanding journalists.

  1. Amnesty Media Awards

The Amnesty International Media Awards celebrate excellence in human rights journalism and applaud the courage and determination of journalists and editors who put their lives on the line to tell important human rights stories.

Eligibility Criteria of Entries

  • The entries must expose human rights issues.
  • Are well-written and produced to a high quality.
  • Introduce human rights topics to the audiences, either for the first time or in a fresh and innovative way.
  • Entries must have been published for broadcast for the first time between 1 January and 31 December.
  1. Money Trail Grants

Money Trail is a collaborative project between highly regarded journalism and training organisations. In Money Trail, Journalismfund.eu offers working grants for teams of Africa, Asia and European journalists to investigate border illicit financial flows, tax abuse, money laundering and corruption across the three continents.

Benefits of the award

The worth of the scholarship is €350,000. There are 10 application rounds in total for this project. The amount per call is €50,000; distributed among different projects.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Intercontinental journalist teams consisting of at least, one African, one Asian and/or one European journalists. Two journalists are ideally acceptable.
  • The team must provide letters of intent for publication from media organisations from two continents.
  • Region cross-border collaborations in Africa and Asia are also acceptable. Each team must consist of at least, two journalists from each country.
  • European journalists must collaborate with an African or Asian journalist.
  • During publication, contestants will be asked to upload commitment publication from relevant media organisations.
  • Dutch-speaking journalists can apply for a one-off Money Trail opportunity for investigations published in Netherlands.

There are so many untold stories in the world, this is your chance to tell them and get your voice heard.

  1. New Media Writing Prize

The New Media Writing Prize showcases exciting and inventive stories and poetries that integrate a variety of formats, platforms and digital media.

There are different categories for the awards and they include:

  • Unicorn Students Awards valued at £750.
  • If:book UK New Media Writing prize valued at £1000.
  • The Future Journalism Award valued at £750.
  • The Dot Award valued at £and a development support.
  • Skylab Innovative Awards valued at £500.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Anyone can apply for the awards – students, professionals, artists, writers, developers, designers and enthusiasts.
  • The competition is an international competition open to all outside the UK.
  • Entries do not need to be in English.

Each entry should contain:

  1. Title of the work.
  2. Entrants contact details.
  3. Entrants short story (50 – 100 words).
  4. Proof of identity if the entrant is a student.

The award is open to all, and eligible applicants should apply via email.

  1. Renewing Democracy

Renewing Democracy, an initiative of the Solutions Journalism Network was launched in May 2018 to encourage reporting about how people and institutions are attempting to reinvigorate democracy in communities across the country.

The grant is worth $4000 for the winners to produce their work.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Grants are open to US-based news organisations that have worked with Solutions Journalism Network before.
  • The stories must report about a response to a problem, fit the parameters of Renewing Democracy, reflect potential for impact and resonate with communities.