Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award 2023 for Journalists in Developing Countries

Spread the love

Thomson Foundation, in partnership with the UK Foreign Press Association (FPA), is inviting young journalists from around the world to submit their most compelling stories.

Application Deadline: 11th August 2023 midnight GMT

Eligible Countries: Journalists from developing countries

To be taken at (country): London, UK

About the Award: Since 2013 our Young Journalist Award has celebrated the outstanding young talent in the media profession. The award is an opportunity for those brilliant young journalists to demonstrate a wealth of investigative journalism, and, in doing so hold power to account. 

Get Up to $100,000 Student Loan for Your Master in US or Canada - See if you are eligible

Got Admission to Study in US or Canada? See if you are eligible for international student loan

The annual competition is organised in partnership with the UK’s Foreign Press Association (FPA) and is presented at their annual awards event in London.  

The competition enables journalists aged 30 and under, from countries with a Gross National Income (GNI) per capita of less than USD20,000, to send in their best stories.

The entries are scrutinised by the foundation and then independent, expert, FPA judges. 

The three finalists are flown to London to attend the gala award night in London, along with a host of other potential award winners and leading figures from the world of journalism. 

An environmental twist on this year’s award 

In the year of COP26, the pivotal UN climate change conference, it is fitting that we should introduce an environmental component to our 2021 Young Journalist Award. Applicants will still be required to submit a portfolio of three stories and these can be a mixture of investigative pieces and human-interest stories. However, we will be asking all entrants to ensure at least ONE of the three pieces submitted has an environmental focus.More details here.

Type: Contests/Awards

Eligibility: Each entrant should submit a portfolio of THREE published or broadcast pieces of work produced in the 12 months preceding (prior to) the award deadline for submissions which is midnight GMT on 11th August 2023 . The entries can be in any format: print, audio, video, multimedia, or a combination of all four. 

All entrants should be reporting from their home country as defined by the GNI or, if not in their country of origin, in another country fitting the same criteria. Applicants also need to provide an explanation of any collaboration undertaken with colleagues or external organisations on the stories they submit.  

Journalists who enter for the FPA award will need to submit a written statement of no more than 200 words per story giving a summary of the content and any impact it had on public debate in the country of publication or broadcast, should also be submitted.

Selection Criteria: Judges of the award look for stories that are revelatory, prompt public debate and have led to, or have the potential to lead to, positive change in society.

Number of Awardees: 3. A longlist of 12 will be recognised  while there will be only 3 finalists.

Value of Award: While only three finalists can make it to London to attend the prestigious gala awards night in November, along with a host of other potential award winners and leading figures from the world of journalism, there is space to salute the longer shortlist of 12 on the Thomson Foundation website and social media channels.

How to Apply: Good luck to those entering.

Find our competition entry form here. 

Good luck!

Visit Program Webpage for Details