One World Media Awards 2023 for Journalists in Developing Countries

Spread the love

One World Media Awards 2023 for Journalists in developing countries

When is the Application Deadline:

9th February 2023

Tell Me About One World Media Awards:

Celebrating our 35th Anniversary in 2023, the One World Media Awards recognise the best media coverage of the global south. Stories that break through stereotypes, change the narrative and connect people across cultures. 

Get Up to $100,000 Student Loan for Your Master in US or Canada - See if you are eligible

Got Admission to Study in US or Canada? See if you are eligible for international student loan

  • Across 15 categories, the Awards celebrate work from all media platforms and across a wide range of genres and themes
  • The Awards are open to journalists and filmmakers from anywhere in the world
  • The focus is on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to the global south

Which Fields are Eligible?

Digital Media Award, Environmental Impact Award, Feature Documentary Award, International Journalist of the Year Award, News Award, New Voice Award, Podcast & Radio Award, Popular Features Award, Print Award, Refugee Reporting Award, Short Film Award, Special Award, Student Award, Television Documentary Award, Women’s Solutions Reporting Award

What Type of Scholarship is this?


Who can apply for One World Media Awards?

All entries should focus on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to low- and middle-income countries across the global south. This includes countries across Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia or the Post-Soviet States. Jurors will be looking for media that covers underreported stories or new angles and approaches to more familiar stories.

Entries must have had their first screening, broadcast, theatrical release, launch or publication between 12 February 2022 and 9 February 2023.

With the exception of the Special Award, all categories are open to entrants anywhere in the world, as long as the work meets one of the following criteria:

  • the entry has been broadcast, screened or published (in print or in an established online publication/website) in the UK; OR
  • the entry has been broadcast or published (in an established print/online publication/website) internationally and is available for an English-speaking audience; OR
  • the entry has been screened at an international film festival

How are Applicants Selected?

Entries will be evaluated based on the overall merit of the piece, with an emphasis on:

Relevance, originality and creativity of the coverage

  • Highlights underreported stories or issues
  • Explores new angles on familiar topics
  • Challenges misperceptions and/or stereotypes of the global south

Substance and accuracy of the coverage

  • Depth of research and analysis
  • Accurate and balanced reporting that highlights the voices and perspectives of people in and from the global south

Impact and reach of the coverage

  • Demonstrates the actual impact or potential for the coverage to catalyse change
  • May have prompted additional media coverage or policy change
  • Consideration may be given to the total audience reached


  • Entries need to demonstrate a commitment to diversity and representation in areas, such as: subject representation, themes and narratives, project team, industry access and opportunities for diversity in audience development.

Quality of the coverage

  • Well-crafted, structured and engaging
  • High production and editorial values
  • Distils and presents complex topics to the target audience in an understandable and accessible way

What is the Benefit of One World Media Awards?

  • A unique opportunity to be recognised by some of the industry’s top professionals and to gain a wider audience for your work
  • The only Awards recognising excellence in international journalism and filmmaking specifically from and about the global south
  • They are established, with 32 years of providing a platform for important stories to be shared and celebrated

How to Apply for One World Media Awards:

Enter the Awards

Visit Award Webpage for Details


  • Ifeoma Chuks is a naturally-skilled writer. She has written and contributed to more than 6000 articles all over the internet that have formed solid experiences for particularly aspiring, young people around the globe.

    Content Manager