Be a true explorer

University of Edinburgh Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2019/2020 for Developing Countries

The University of Edinburgh has six Commonwealth Shared Scholarships to offer for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Application Deadline: 14th March 2019 by 16:00

Eligible Countries: Developing Countries

To be taken at (country): Scotland, UK

About the Award:The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the UK Department for International Development (DFID) and UK universities, including the University of Edinburgh, to jointly support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.

Applications from students planning to study the following eligible programmes will be considered:

  • MSc Africa and International Development
  • MSc International Development
  • MSc Global Health Policy

Type: Masters

Eligibility: To apply for these scholarships, you must:

  • Be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK (on campus study only) by the start of the UK academic year in September 2019 and have applied for admission to one of the programmes detailed above – University of Edinburgh application process
  • By August 2019, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a developed country
  • Be unable, either yourself or through your family, to pay to study in the UK

Number of Awards: 6

Value of Award: The award is financed jointly by the University of Edinburgh and DfID. The award will cover: (i) All tuition fees; (ii) Air fare to and from the United Kingdom; (iii) Expenses for accommodation and maintenance. Payments for the academic year 2018-2019 were set at £1,084 per month for the programme of study. Details of the 2019-2020 level will be available later in 2019.

Duration of Programme: Awards will normally be for one year. Awards cannot be extended or renewed. At the end of the award, candidates are required to return promptly to their home country.

How to Apply:Application for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme should be made through the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission’s Electronic Application System (EAS).

  • It is important to go through all application requirements on the Programme Webpage (see link below) before applying

Visit Programme Webpage for Details

Watch Interesting Videos from Our Channel
You might also like