African Union All African Public Service Innovation Awards (AAPSIA) 2018

Spread the love

The African Union (UA) and the 8th Pan-African Conference of Ministers in charge of Public Administration / Public Service announce the sixth 2018 Annual Public Service Innovation Awards (AAPSIA 2018). The All African Public Sector Innovation Awards is the first African-scale price program to celebrate innovation in the public sector.

Application Deadline: 7th August 2018

Eligible Countries: African countries

To Be Taken At (Country): TBA

About the Award: The program recognizes and rewards the success of the workforce and their private and nonprofit
sector partners that have successfully developed innovative solutions, in terms of service delivery, combating corruption and governance-related challenges.

Get Up to $100,000 Student Loan for Your Master in US or Canada - See if you are eligible

Got Admission to Study in US or Canada? See if you are eligible for international student loan


The aim of AAPSIA is to promote and encourage innovative practices for public sector services. The prices recognize successful and effective service delivery initiatives through the application of innovative approaches, methodologies and tools.
The prize program provides opportunities for knowledge sharing, training, partnerships, and possible replication of successful initiatives across the continent.

The theme: “Combating Corruption: A Sustainable Path towards Africa’s Transformation”

The theme of the 2018 edition of AAPSIA is informed by the vision of the Agenda 2063 of an integrated, prosperous and peaceful Africa led by its own citizens, which represents a dynamic force in the international arena as well as the AU theme of year for 2018 mentioned above. The Prize Program contributes specifically to the aim of “Africa of Good Governance”, with competent and innovative institutions governed by transformative leadership at any level of government.


  1. Innovative Service Delivery;
    • Improving Service Delivery to Citizens/Stakeholders OR
    • Improve internal efficiency within the public sector.
  2. Innovative Partnerships (Government, Private Sector and CSOs);
    • Creative Partnerships-resulting in better outcomes;
    • Sustainable relationship between government and other social partners
    • Approaches to participation and consultation;
  3. Innovation in the Systems and Processes of Government;
    • Building accountability, transparency and ethics in public services-with citizens participation;
  4. The 4th Industrial Revolution;
    • Demonstrable use of new technology to enhance service delivery

Type: Award


  • The project should come from or have been mostly developed in Africa.
  • Projects should provide direct benefits to citizens in their own country, region or across Africa.
  • Prizes are open to individuals or units within government services, para-public organizations and public-private partnerships.
  • The project should work within the public sector and should still be existentfor at least 1 year.

Selection Criteria: Projects presented should demonstrate:

  • Innovation: Reflect an innovative idea or innovative concept that has been fully implemented in the public sector in Africa. This means that the approach should not have been implemented before in the context of which it is nominated – it should be a “new” concept for that country or community.
  • The impact: Demonstrate tangible improvements in the quality of services provided to target groups as well as customer satisfaction levels based on the services. In addition, there is a significant positive effect, whether in the organization, in the public sector, in the general public, in the country or in the whole of Africa.
  • Viability: The project should be fully implemented and operational and it should demonstrate its ability to maintain and prosper in the future.

Number of Awards: Not specified

Value of Award: 

  • All finalists will be invited to attend the Award ceremony where a first prize will be awarded to each of the three winners. Part of the first prize will be for publicity or the marketing of a case study that presents each winning project. The presentation will be done in continental publications and, where possible, in international publications dealing with public service and public administration.
  • All winners of the different categories will be awarded a trophy. The finalists will each receive a certificate of acknowledgement of the success of their project.

How to Apply: To participate, just fill in the attached submission form (or download the electronic form) and send it back to the Secretariat (AU-STC8) by email, post or by handing over to:

Department of Political Affairs
African Union Commission
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
P.O. Box 3243
Roosevelt Street

Visit Programme Webpage for Details

Award Providers: African Union Commission


  • Ifeoma Chuks is a naturally-skilled writer. She has written and contributed to more than 6000 articles all over the internet that have formed solid experiences for particularly aspiring, young people around the globe.

    Content Manager

Leave a Comment