Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Presidential Special Scholarship Scheme for Innovation and Development (PRESSID) for Nigerian Graduates 2015/2016

Brief description

The Federal Government has instituted the Presidential Special Scholarship Scheme for Innovation and Development (PRESSID).The Scheme, which sponsors graduates that have obtained First Class Honours degrees from any recognized and approved university, was established in January 2012 and has awarded a total of two hundred and five (205) scholarships under two editions (the 2013/2014 and 2014/2015 academic sessions).

The PRESSID Implementation Committee now invites qualified candidates to apply for the third edition (2015/2016 academic session).

Eligible Field of Study

Eligible candidate would have obtained First Class Honours degree from any recognised and approved University in the following disciplines and aim at postgraduate degrees in the specified and allied programmes:

  • Sciences: Nuclear Physics, Operations Research, Industrial Chemistry, Quantitative Genetics, Biometrics, Molecular Biology, etc;
  • Medicine*: Clinical Sciences, Dentistry, Oncology, Human Genetics, Forensic Medicine, Physiotherapy, Hepatology, Nuclear Medicine, Geriatrics, ophthalmology, etc.;
  • Veterinary medicine*: Veterinary Parasitology, Theriogenology, Public Health, etc;
  • Basic Medical Sciences: Biochemistry, Physiology, Dentistry, Anatomy, Medical Biochemistry, Human Nutrition, Nursing Science, Anatomic and Molecular Pathology, Biomedical Engineering, Medical Microbiology, Physiotherapy, Pharmacology, etc;
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences*: Drug formulations, Natural products, Drug design, Phytochemistry, Ethnopharmacology, Pharmaceutical Microbiology, etc;
  • Accounting/Actuarial Science: Financial Accounting, Management Accounting, Forensic Accounting, Petroleum Accounting, Cost & Management Accounting, Environmental Accounting, etc;
  • Economics: Econometrics, Development Economics, Micro Economics, Macro Economics, Applied Economics, Labour Economics, etc;
  • Engineering: Aeronautical Engineering, Mechatronics, Control Systems, Material Science and Production Engineering, Nanotechnology, Process Engineering, Energy Systems Engineering, Refinery Design and Operations, Subsea Engineering, Thermal Power (Gas Turbine Option), Reservoir Analysis, Drilling Optimization, Chemical Process Dynamics & Control, Process Modelling and Simulations, etc;
  • Computing and Information Technology: Intelligent Robotic Systems, Computer Systems and Software Engineering, Computer Information Systems, Information Technology, Artificial Intelligence, Cyber-Security, etc.

About Scholarship

As part of efforts to achieve the goals of Vision 20:2020 and the Transformation Agenda, the Federal Government of Nigeria is currently developing a critical mass of professionals who would serve as catalysts of change and agents of scientific and technological advancement, as well as sustainable economic development. This is being achieved through the sponsorship of outstanding students for postgraduate studies in the top 25 universities in the world.

Scholarship Offered Since:

Scholarship Type:  Graduate Scholarship

Selection Criteria and Eligibility

Be graduates from the 2011/2012 and 2012/2013 academic sessions, who would have completed their National Youth Service by October 2014

Number of Scholarships: several

Value of Scholarship: full scholarship

Duration of Scholarship: For the duration of one academic year

Eligible Countries: PRESSID Scholarships are open for citizens of Nigeria

To be taken at (institution and country):

University of Cambridge -United Kingdom

Harvard University – United States

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) – United States

Yale University – United States

University of Oxford – United Kingdom

Imperial College London – United Kingdom

UCL (University College London) – United Kingdom

University of Chicago – United States

University of Pennsylvania (UPenn) – United States

Columbia University – United States

Stanford University – United States

California Institute of Technology (Caltech) – United States

Princeton University – United States

University of Michigan – United States

Cornell University – United States

Johns Hopkins University – United States

McGill University – Canada

ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) – Switzerland

Duke University – United States

University of Edinburgh – United Kingdom

University of California, Berkeley (UCB) – United States

University of Hong Kong (HKU) – Hong Kong

University of Toronto – Canada

Northwestern University – United States

The University of Tokyo – Japan

University of California, Los Angeles – United States

Carnegie Mellon University – United States

University of Washington – United States

Application Deadline: Application closes on 18th October 2014.

Offered annually? Yes

How to Apply

Eligible candidates should submit application online. Click here for details

Sponsors: The Federal Government of Nigeria

You might also like