Be a true explorer

United Nations Junior Professional Officer (JPO) Programme 2018/2019 for Developing Countries

The UN  at the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)/ Capacity Development Office, has opened applications for its JPO Programme for candidates from developing countries. Candidates from developing countries may apply for positions in the framework of the Dutch and Italian JPO Programme.

Application Deadline: 14th December 2018 (3.00 PM CET)

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Indonesia, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Palestinian Territories, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Candidates from any OTHER country are NOT ELIGIBLE

About the Award: JPOs are usually nationals of Donor countries, however some Donors also finance nationals of developing countries. The JPO programme is open to applicants from participating countries. Candidates from developing countries may apply for positions in the framework of the Dutch and Italian JPO Programme.

The following position is open in the context of the Dutch JPO Programme and is exclusively addressed to candidates from developing Countries (i.e. least developed countries).

  • JPO in Protection of Civilians (pdf)
    United Nations Secretariat, Departments of Peacekeeping Operations and Field Support,
    Division for Policy, Evaluation and Training, Policy and Best Practice Service (DPET/DPKO), New York

Type: Jobs/Internship


  • Be born on or after 1 January 1988 (1 January 1985 for graduates in medicine)
  • Candidates Must be nationals of a developing country that appears on the list of eligible countries (above). 
  • Part of the academic training MUST have taken place in one of the above listed countries to be eligible.
  • Candidates should possess a Master’s degree and a MINIMUM of 2 and a MAXIMUM of 4 years of relevant work experience.
    • – Please note that candidates with more than the maximum amount of work experience can not be considered.
    • – Candidates who only hold a BA may be considered if in possession of 2 additional years of work experience.

Number of Awards: Not specified

Duration of Program: Appointment is for a period of one year, with a possibility of an extension, depending on the performance and available funding from donor countries.

How to Apply: Please SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION for the above-mentioned position via this online application system

Visit the Program Webpage for Details

Award Providers: Donor countries The Netherlands and Italy, through the UN.

Watch Interesting Videos from Our Channel
You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.