Be a true explorer

University of Oxford Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Developing Countries 2019/2020

The University of Oxford is offering the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme for students from select developing countries for the academic session 2019/2020.

Application Deadline: 14th March 2019

Offered annually? Yes

Eligible Countries: Awards are open to students from: Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, The Gambia, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, or Zambia.

To be taken at (country): University of Oxford UK

Fields of Study: You must also be applying to one of the following courses:

  • MSc International Health and Tropical Medicine
  • MSc Environmental Change and Management
  • MSc Biodiversity, Conservation and Management
  • MSc Water Science, Policy and Management
  • Master of Public Policy
  • MSt Diplomatic Studies
  • MSc Education (Child Development and Education)
  • MSc Economics for Development


Who is eligible to apply? Candidates must:

  • Hold a first degree at either first class or upper second class level;
  • Be nationals of a Commonwealth developing country, and not at present living or studying in a developed country;
  • Have not undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country;
  • Be able to confirm in writing that neither they nor their families are able to pay for them to study in the UK (you will be asked to confirm this if you are nominated for the scholarship by Oxford – you do not need to provide confirmation in advance);
  • Be willing to return to their home country as soon as their award comes to an end (the Commission will only consider requests to extend leave to remain in the UK post-award for those wishing to progress from Master’s to PhD study and strict conditions will apply).

Number of Scholarships: up to 9

What are the benefits? The scholarship covers course fees and a grant for living costs for full-time students of at least £13,008.

Duration of Scholarship: Awards are made for the full duration of your fee liability for the agreed course.

How to Apply: To be considered for this scholarship, you must:

1. Submit your application for graduate study by the relevant January deadline for your course.  In exceptional circumstances, applicants for the MSt Diplomatic Studies and the MSc Education (Child Development and Education) who apply by the March deadline for their course may also be considered.

2. Complete the online scholarship application form issued by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission by 16:00 (GMT) on 14 March 2019.

Selection is expected to take place in July 2019.

Visit Scholarship Webpage for Details

Watch Interesting Videos from Our Channel
You might also like