Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme in HIV Service Delivery 2022/2024 for African Clinicians

The Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme, an initiative of the IAS Educational Fund,  is aimed at contributing to improving the quality of HIV service delivery in resource-limited settings by providing two-year fellowships to five clinicians from sub-Saharan Africa, who will spend one year in Europe and one year in Africa at clinical institutions. 

Application Deadline: 20th February 2022 at 23.59 CET.

Eligible Countries: African countries

To be taken at (country): Selected applicants will spend one year in a Country in Europe and Africa each.

About the Mark Wainberg Fellowship Award: The programme will offer in-depth training for clinicians committed to careers in HIV clinical service delivery in sub-Saharan Africa with the aim of strengthening access to high-quality services for sub-Saharan Africa populations, with a client-centred service delivery approach.

Many African countries face an unmet need in the training of medical practitioners who want to become specialized in HIV. HIV medicine sub-specialization is not attractive for many young healthcare professionals, which is in sharp contrast to the need for such specialized personnel and leadership in the hardest-hit countries in sub-Saharan Africa.

Type: Fellowship

Eligibility: To be eligible for the Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme, candidates should meet the following requirements:

  • Terminal research degree as a medical doctor (or equivalent)
  • Minimum of two years’ clinical experience
  • Currently working in sub-Saharan Africa
  • Commitment to become a specialist in HIV
  • English, French or Portuguese speaking.

Number of Awards: 5

Value of Mark Wainberg Fellowship Award:

  • The fellows will be selected with a view to their potential of functioning as a multiplier and disseminate the knowledge learned (for example, towards other physicians, nurses, community healthcare providers) to further broaden the impact of the programme. At the end of their fellowship, the fellows should have skills that enable them to mentor and train other fellows.
  • Please note that fellows will receive a living allowance for the duration of the Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme; applicants should ensure they are financially able to enrol in the 2-year programme before accepting the fellowship.

Duration of Programme: Two years

How to Apply for Mark Wainberg Fellowship: 

  • Applications are available in English, French and Portuguese.
  • Please have a scanned copy of your terminal research degree and letter of support from your institution ready to upload at the time of application.
  • Applications not submitted through the online system will not be accepted.

Visit Programme Webpage for Details