Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Africa Fact-Checking Awards 2021 for African Journalists

Entries are now open for the seventh annual African Fact-Checking Awards, the only awards programme that honours journalism by Africa-based media in the expanding field of fact-checking.

Application Deadline: 1st August 2021 midnight GMT.

Eligible Countries: African countries

To be taken at (country): Kenya

About the Award:

Entries for the 2021 African Fact-Checking Awards, the longest-running awards programme that honours fact-checking journalism by the media in Africa, are now open. Journalists and journalism students across the continent can enter the awards, now in their eighth year.

We received a record number of 192 entries from 27 African countries in 2020 and expect this number to rise again this year.

“Through the awards, we want to promote the practice of fact-checking and making accurate information available to citizens of all countries across Africa, which is now more important than ever,” says Noko Makgato, executive director at Africa Check.

“This, we believe, will help the public make informed decisions about important issues related to their health, education, politics and more. Ultimately, we expect that this will strengthen democracy and improve the quality of life across the continent.”

This year’s categories include:

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Working Journalist
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Student Journalist
  • One runner-up in each of the two categories above 

Type: contest

Eligibility: To qualify, the entry must be an original piece of fact-checking journalism first published or broadcast on any date from 23 August 2020 to 31 July 2021, by a media- or independent fact-checking organisation based in Africa. The work may be published in print or online, broadcast on the radio or television or published in a blog.

Candidates can only enter for the awards in one category per year, but can submit more than one report if they choose.

Selection Criteria: The entries will be judged on the following four criteria:

  • The significance for wider society of the claim investigated
  • How the claim was tested against the available evidence
  • How well the piece presented the evidence for and against the claim
  • The impact that the publication had on public debate on the topic.

Number of Awardees: Four (4)

Value of Award: The winner of the award for best fact-checking report by a working journalist will get a prize of $3,000, while the runner-up will be awarded $1,500. The winner of the award for best fact-checking report by a student journalist will get a prize of $2,000, and the runner-up $1,000.

How to Apply: Interested participants should:

Enter the awards

Visit Award Webpage for details

Comments are closed.