2015 Commonwealth Scholarships for Developing Countries – Masters and PhD

Scholarship Name: Commonwealth Scholarships for developing Commonwealth country citizens

Brief description

2015 Applications are now open for the CSC Commonwealth Scholarships for Masters and PhD students from developing Commonwealth countries to study in UK, funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

Accepted Subject Areas?

All subject areas are eligible, although the CSC’s selection criteria give priority to applications that demonstrate strong relevance to development.

commonwealth scholarshipLevels of study

You can apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship for the following levels of study:

Master’s (from 2013, the CSC funds one-year Master’s courses only), PhD, and split-site-PhD (where the CSC supports one year’s study at a UK university as part of a PhD being undertaken in your home country)

You are requested to apply for a course of study at a UK university with which the CSC has a part funding agreement.

About Scholarship

Each year, the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission invites each nominating agency, university or university body to forward a specific number of nominations for the commonwealth scholarship for developing countries. Each nominating agency/university/university body is responsible for its own selection process, and in most cases they will set a closing date in the months preceding the CSC’s deadline for nominations (17 December 2013).
There is a nominating agency for Commonwealth Scholarships in each Commonwealth country.

There is a nominating agency for Commonwealth Scholarships in each Commonwealth country. In addition, universities and university bodies in a number of developing Commonwealth countries are invited to nominate candidates to the CSC.

Scholarship Offered Since: 1959

Scholarship Type: Masters and PhD Scholarship for developing Countries

Selection Criteria

Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the proposal
  • Likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

Who is qualified to apply?

Masters and PhD students from developing countries

Number of Scholarships: Approximately 300 scholarships are awarded each year. The CSC invites around three times more nominations than scholarships available – therefore, nominated candidates are not guaranteed to get a scholarship. There are no quotas for scholarships for any individual country. Candidates nominated by national nominating agencies are in competition with those nominated by universities/university bodies, and the same standards will be applied to applications made through either channel.

Duration of Scholarships: For the duration of the programme

Eligible Countries: Developing commonwealth countries including African countries

To be taken at: UK Universities

Application Deadline: The EAS will close to applicants on 3 December 2014 and no further applications can be made after that date.

Offered annually? Yes

How to Apply: All applications must be made through your nominating agency (or university/university body, if applicable) in your home country. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date. The CSC cannot accept any applications direct from candidates.

Visit Scholarship webpage for details


Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) and UK Department for International Development (DFID).

Important Notes:

UK universities which have part funding agreements with the CSC

Subscribe to Receive Email Updates