Be a true explorer

Apply for Commonwealth Scholarships by Distance Learning

The Commission first supported scholarships by distance learning in 2002 as part of both the Commission and the Department for International Development’s (DFID) commitment to exploring new methods of scholarship delivery.
Rather than offering its Distance Learning scholarships directly to students, the Commission works directly with UK institutions and has to date funded courses at over 20 UK institutions, awarding over 1,000 scholarships to students from across the Commonwealth.

The Commission will accept bids from institutions interested in the methods of delivery below:

Partnership delivery: These courses are offered in partnership with institutions in developing Commonwealth countries and chosen on the grounds of their impact on international development. The awards are used to improve the long-term capacity of institutions, as well as the individual recipients. The ninth ‘cohort’ of these awards will be taken up in 2010/11 and the Commission currently offers around 15 scholarships per course.

Non-partnership: Since 2006, the distance learning programme has extended support to the direct delivery of distance learning courses (ie where there is no overseas partner institution directly involved in the programme). Fifteen courses have thus far been supported.

Health and Education in Africa: In 2006 the Commission was awarded a tranche of funding by DFID to support up to 200 distance learning courses tenable in Sub-Saharan Africa and specifically for courses in health and education. These awards were funded by a discrete tranche of £1.8 million. The present tranche has enabled funding for 11 courses at 8 institutions with up to 30 awards on offer per course.

This would depend on the in stitution your apply for.

Scholarship WORTH
The scholarships cover the overseas tuition fees at the Masters degree level.

Application GUIDELINE:
Candidates should read the ‘Distance Learning Guide to using the EAS’ before starting their application. See on link below.
Please access the electronic application system to make an application.
Questions about using the EAS should be directed to [email protected]

Application DEADLINE:
The closing date for applications from nominating organisations to reach the Commission is 14 June 2010. Applications should be submitted using the online system but a covering letter giving names of candidates should be sent separately to the following contact address address so as to arrive by 14 June.

For Further Information
Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships Scheme (TA)
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission
c/o The ACU
Woburn House, 20 – 24 Tavistock Place
London WC1H 9HF
See Official Website:

Watch Interesting Videos from Our Channel

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.