Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

King’s College London Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2021 for Developing Countries

3 awards available for 2021/22 to support students from least developed and lower middle income Commonwealth countries, for full-time study on selected Master’s programmes at King’s.

Application Deadline: 9th April 2021

About the Award: Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for candidates from least developed and lower middle income Commonwealth countries, for full-time Master’s study on selected courses, jointly supported by UK universities.

Funded by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) Commonwealth Shared Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

These scholarships are offered under six CSC development themes:

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting global prosperity
  4. Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion and opportunity

Eligible Field(s): The 2021/22 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Scheme (CSSS) awards at King’s College London are open to students applying for any the following Master’s programme only:

  • MRes Clinical Research
  • MSc Global Mental Health
  • MSc Mental Health Studies

Type: Masters

Eligibility: To apply for these scholarships, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start the academic studies in the UK, or remotely if required, by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2021
  • By September 2021, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country
  • Be unable to afford to study at a UK university without this scholarship
  • Have applied and provided all relevant supporting documentation in the required format by the deadline of 16:00 GMT on 09 April 2021

In addition, applicants must:

  • Meet the relevant entry requirements for their chosen degree programme and be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue the course
  • Be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as the period of study is complete

Eligible Countries: Bangladesh. Cameroon. Eswatini. Gambia. Ghana. India. Kenya. Kiribati. Lesotho. Malawi. Mozambique. Nigeria. Pakistan. Papua New Guinea. Rwanda. Samoa. Sierra Leone. Solomon Islands. Sri Lanka. Tanzania. Tuvalu. Uganda. Vanuatu. Zambia.

To be Taken at (Country): UK

Number of Awards: 3

Value of Award: Stipend. Travel. Tuition fee.

Duration of Award: 1 YEAR

How to Apply: To apply, candidates MUST submit the following by the deadline of 9 APRIL 2021, 16.00 (GMT) at the latest:

1) A complete King’s College London online admissions application for one of the eligible Master’s programmes.


2) A separate application via the CSC’s online application system. For further details, click here.

Applicants who fail to complete both applications by the given deadline are ineligible and won’t be considered.

  • It is important to go through all application requirements in the Award Webpage (see Link below) before applying.

Visit Award Webpage for Details