SADC Media Awards Competition 2021 for Southern African Journalists

Published by
Ifeoma Chime

The South African media are invited to submit their entries for the 2021 SADC Media Awards competition.

Application Deadline: 28th February 2021

About the Award: The Awards were established following a decision by the Council of Ministers in 1996 to establish a sector that deals with matters relating to amongst others, information, culture and sport. These awards serve as part of ensuring a link, coordination and synchronisation between formal structures of SADC governments, civil society, academia, labour and the media.

To promote regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues), the awards aim to recognise excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

Type: Award

Eligibility: The Awards are in the fields of Print Journalism, Radio Journalism, Television Journalism and Photo journalism. Prospective entrants are invited to submit their entries accompanied by proof of their nationality to the National Adjudication Committee (NAC) in their respective Member States.

Eligible Countries: Southern Africa

Number of Awards: Not specified

Value of Award:

  • The Awards will include Print, Radio, Television and Photo journalism. Each category carries a first prize of US$2,500;
  • The runner-ups in each category will receive a second prize of US$1000 and will receive the prize money and certificates in their respective countries through their National Contact Point;
  • The monetary prizes will be accompanied by a certificate signed by the SADC Chairperson;
  • o) The prizes will be paid directly to the winner. In the case of a winner being unable to attend the ceremony, SADC will make arrangements to give the prize in his/her home country;

How to Apply: Apply here                           
Entries need to be posted or delivered to MDDA or  any GCIS office nationwide marked :

MDDA                                                                    GCIS Offices
SADC Media Awards Entry                 or                SADC Media Awards Entry

MDDA – 1ST Floor                                                    Government Communications
5 St Davids Place                                                      1035 Francis Baard Street
Parktown, Johannesburg                                        Hatfield, Pretoria
2193                                                                           0028      

All entries must be submitted not later than 28 February 2021.

  • It is important to go through all application requirements in the Award Webpage (see Link below) before applying.

Visit Award Webpage for Details

This post was last modified on February 22, 2021 2:15 pm