Be a true explorer

CSC Distance Learning Scholarship in 2011

Since 2002, the Commission has offered Scholarships by distance learning as part of the commitment of the Commission and the Department for International Development’s (DFID) commitment to explore new methods of scholarship delivery.

Rather than offering its Distance Learning Scholarships directly to students, the Commission works with UK institutions and has to date funded courses at over 20 UK institutions, awarding over 1,000 scholarships to students from across the developing Commonwealth.

The following UK institutions are currently recruiting candidates who wish to be considered for CSC scholarships to study by distance learning for one of the degree programmes listed below.  Prospective candidates must be citizens of, and live and work in, a developing Commonwealth country.  You can obtain Full details of these courses from the institution itself.

  • Aberystwyth University Masters in Information and Library Studies
  • Bangor University Masters in Forestry
  • Cardiff University Masters in Palliative Medicine & Palliative Care
  • University of Edinburgh Masters in Global Health
  • Leeds Metropolitan University Masters in Responsible Tourism Management
  • Leicester University Masters in Criminology
  • Leicester University Masters in Risk, Crisis & Disaster Management
  • LSHTM Masters in Clinical Trials
  • London South Bank University Masters in Education for Sustainability
  • University of Manchester Masters in Public Health
  • University of Nottingham Masters in Education
  • Open University Masters in Development Management
  • Royal Veterinary College Masters in Veterinary Epidemiology & Public Health
  • School of Oriental and African Studies Masters in Poverty Reduction: Policy and Practice
  • Sheffield University Masters in Nursing & Midwifery
  • Stirling University Masters in Dementia Studies
  • University of York Masters in Public Policy & Management


Information for UK academic institutions

In June 2011, the Commission will be inviting all UK higher education institutions to submit an Expression of Interest in receiving Commonewealth Distance Learning Scholarships on behalf of any distance learning courses offered either directly, or in partnership with an overseas institution. The Scholarships cover the overseas tuition fees at the Masters degree level and are open to candidates who are citizens of a developing Commonwealth country.

The Commission expects all Expressions to be submitted with the approval of an institution and therefore they should be submitted through an appointed person in the first instance.  Expressions should be submitted via the Electronic Application System; access to the System is via  If the Academic Department of the University is not registered with the EAS, it is necessary to click on Apply to be a Nominating Agency; otherwise, the appointed person can start completing the form by clicking on Nomination, Advice and Admin Portal . There is a guide to completing the Expression of Interest form which can be found on the EAS webpage

The deadline for the submission of Expressions will be 9 September 2011; they will be considered at a meeting to be held in October 2011 and institutions successful at that stage will be requested to submit, by December 2011, a full and costed proposal for a specified number of Scholarships.  Decisions on which proposals will be supported will be taken in January 2012; thereafter institutions will conduct a recruitment exercise with the selection of candidates taking place in July 2012 for September/October 2012 take up.

All Expressions of Interest should be completed with reference to the 2011 Distance Learning Scholarships prospectus that will be available here in due course.

The commission have awarded Scholarships to a range of institutions using a variety of distance learning modes:

Partnership delivery
These courses are offered in partnership with institutions in developing Commonwealth countries and chosen on the grounds of their impact on international development. The awards are used to improve the long-term capacity of institutions, as well as the individual recipients. The tenth ‘cohort’ of these awards will be taken up in 2011/12 and the Commission currently offers around 15 scholarships per course.

Since 2006, the distance learning programme has extended support to the direct delivery of distance learning courses (ie where there is no overseas partner institution directly involved in the programme). Fifteen courses have thus far been supported.

Health and Education in Africa
In 2006 the Commission was awarded £1.8 million by DFID to support up to 200 distance learning scholarships tenable in Sub-Saharan Africa and specifically for courses in health and education. The courses in question are listed below.

Watch Interesting Videos from Our Channel

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.