Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Distance Learning Scholarships for Developing Countries at University of York 2018/2019 – UK

 The Department of Health Sciences has been awarded 5 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSCUK) for students joining the online MSc International Humanitarian Affairs, commencing their studies in September 2018. 

Application Deadline: 31st May 2018

Eligible Countries: Developing Commonwealth country

To Be Taken At (Country): Online

About the Award: The programme is two years, part-time in length and this dynamic course explores the changing nature of humanitarianism and is interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary in its approach. We offer an opportunity for you to engage with the philosophical and theoretical emergence of the concepts of humanitarianism and explore fast-changing, contemporary debates over the theory, policy and practice of humanitarian affairs. You will have the opportunity to network with like-minded experts, academics and policymakers from around the world who are responding to disasters, conflicts and complex political emergencies.

Field of Study: MSc International Humanitarian Affairs

Type: Masters

Eligibility: Scholarships are available to applicants who meet all of the following criteria:

  • a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country, refugee, or British protected person
  • permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases
  • are working in or with public organisations, including NGO’s, aid agencies and local/national government departments, and can demonstrate throughout their application that they are working towards the Sustainable Development Goals
  • can dedicate at least 15 hours each week to their studies with a number of study sessions being over 2 hours in length
  • meet the University Entry Requirements for the programme (see the ‘Entry requirements’ on course web page).

Number of Awards: 5

Value of Award: The awards are worth the full course fee for candidate’s chosen MSc programme

Duration of Program: 2 Years

How to Apply: Scholarship applicants must hold an offer of a place at the University of York on the programme. Details of how to apply to the university are contained on the programme page linked above.

When you hold an offer, please complete the scholarship application. Full instructions for the Electronic Application System (EAS) are contained on the Scholarship Commission’s website:

The scholarship application will ask you to provide an email address for a referee. When you submit your application to the EAS your referee will be contacted to ask them to provide and upload a reference.

Please submit your application at least 1 week before the deadline to allow your referee time to write their letter. Applicants are responsible to follow up with their referees to ensure letters are submitted.

Visit the Program Webpage for Details

Award Providers: Department for International Development (DFID).

Important Notes: Please note that due to the high demand for these scholarships candidates will only be considered if they have a strong academic record at undergraduate level and clear evidence of a contribution to the Sustainable Development Goals, demonstrated through their Future Career Plans and Home Country Benefit statements on the scholarship application form.