Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Nominate a #BadassWomanJourno for the IWMF Courage in Photojournalism Award 2018

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations for the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award honoring AP photographer Anja Niedringhaus, who was killed in Afghanistan in April 2014. 

Apply for Africa's Business Heroes Competition

Application Deadline: 16th March 2018

Eligible Countries: All

About the Award: The Courage in Journalism Awards honor women journalists who set themselves apart by their extraordinary bravery. Facing and surviving danger to uncover the truth, they raise the bar for reporting under duress. Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards can be full-time or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers working in any country.

Sexual harassment, threats, attacks, government oppression, a stubborn glass ceiling, unequal pay, accusations of fake news and a growing mistrust of the media all threaten press freedom around the world. And female journalists often feel the greatest brunt of these attacks. In fact, the number of female journalists killed in 2017 more than tripled from the year before.

The Courage in Journalism Awards show people that female journalists are not going to step aside, cannot be silenced, and deserve to be recognized for their strength in the face of adversity. It honors the brave journalists who report on taboo topics, work in environments hostile to women, and share difficult truths. These women demonstrate a commitment to press freedom and extraordinary strength of character, overcoming unjust conditions to become leaders in their industry. So far, we have honored more than 100 groundbreaking journalists in 56 countries.

Type: Contest

Eligibility: Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards must be full-time staff or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers, or producers working in any country and of any nationality.

Value of Award: The Award includes a cash prize of $20,000.

Timeline of Program: As part of the IWMF’s partnership with World Press Photo Foundation, the 2018 Award winner will be announced publicly and have her work showcased at the World Press Photo Festival of Visual Journalism in April 2018.

How to Apply: To apply for yourself or submit a nomination for someone else, visit the IWMF’s Submittable page

Visit the Program Webpage for Details

Award Providers: IWMF