Be a true explorer

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2018 for Innovative Literacy Projects

UNESCO is calling for applications and nominations for its two prestigious International Literacy Prizes for the 2018 edition. 

Application Deadlines:

  • 5th June 2018 for applications
  • 17th June 2018 for nominations

Offered Annually? Yes

Eligible Countries: All

To be taken at (country): Paris, France

About the Award: This year’s theme is ‘literacy in a digital world’, which will also set the focus for International Literacy Day, celebrated on 8 September. 470 projects and programmes in the field of literacy have already been recognized and rewarded since 1967 for their excellence and innovation, undertaken by Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world.

UNESCO distinguishes between two Literacy Prizes which are given to five laureates:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards), was established in 1989 and is supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to programmes that focus on the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards), was established in 2005, and is supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China. This Prize recognizes programmes that promote adult literacy, especially in rural areas and for out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Each of the prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

Type: Contest

Eligibility: Candidates should take into account this year’s theme – literacy in a digital world – and also consider the special focus of each Prize.

  • Institutions, organizations and individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.
  • Eligible programmes or projects who have a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.
  • Programmes/projects that have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.

Number of Awards: 5

Value of Program: Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are awarded in an official ceremony on the occasion of the International Literacy Day (8 September).

How to Apply: 

Applications should be submitted to the Director-General of UNESCO through appropriate governments of Member States and non-governmental organizations in official partnership with UNESCO.

Each government or non-governmental organization can nominate up to three applications for the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, and up to two applications for the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize.

Visit Program Webpage for details

Award Provider: UNESCO

You might also like