Africa Fact-Checking Awards 2022 for African Journalists

Published by
Ifeoma Chuks

Entries are now open for the seventh annual African Fact-Checking Awards, the only awards programme that honours journalism by Africa-based media in the expanding field of fact-checking.

Application Deadline: 15th July 2022 midnight GMT.

Eligible Countries: African countries

To be taken at (country): Kenya

About the Award:

Entries for the 2022 African Fact-Checking Awards, the longest-running awards programme that honours fact-checking journalism by the media in Africa, are now open. Journalists and journalism students across the continent can enter the awards, now in their eighth year.

“Through the awards, we want to promote the practice of fact-checking and making accurate information available to citizens of all countries across Africa, which is now more important than ever,” says Noko Makgato, executive director at Africa Check.

“This, we believe, will help the public make informed decisions about important issues related to their health, education, politics and more. Ultimately, we expect that this will strengthen democracy and improve the quality of life across the continent.”

This year’s categories include:

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Working Journalist
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Student Journalist
  • One runner-up in each of the two categories above

Type: contest

Eligibility: To qualify, entries must have been first published or broadcast in the period from 1 August 2021 to 15 July 2022. The fact-check should conclude that a claim about an important topic, originating in or relevant to Africa, is either misleading or wrong.

Candidates can only enter for the awards in one category per year, but can submit more than one report if they choose.

Selection Criteria: The entries will be judged on the following four criteria:

  • The significance for wider society of the claim investigated
  • How the claim was tested against the available evidence
  • How well the piece presented the evidence for and against the claim
  • The impact that the publication had on public debate on the topic.

Number of Awardees: Four (4)

Value of Award: The winner of the award for best fact-checking report by a working journalist will get a prize of $3,000, while the runner-up will be awarded $1,500. The winner of the award for best fact-checking report by a student journalist will get a prize of $2,000, and the runner-up $1,000.

How to Apply: Interested participants should:

Enter the awards

Visit Award Webpage for details

This post was last modified on May 9, 2022 10:50 am