Commonwealth Professional Fellowships for Developing Countries, 2015/2016 UK

Scholarship Name: Commonwealth Professional Fellowships

Brief description

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission offers Research Fellowships for mid-career professionals of Developing Commonwealth Countries to study at a UK host organization, 2015/2016 UK

Eligible Field of Study

Agriculture/fisheries/forestry, economic growth, education, engineering/ science/ technology, environment, governance, and public health

About Scholarship

Commonwealth Professional Fellowships support mid-career professionals from developing Commonwealth countries to spend a period of time with a UK host organisation working in their field for a programme of professional development. Fellowships are typically three months but can be between one and six months in length and can include limited time for attendance at short courses or conferences, as well as visits to other organizations.

The CSC is currently inviting applications for Commonwealth Professional Fellowships in 2014 (Round 3). Applications should be made by the UK host organisation which acts as the ‘nominator’, and which can be from any sector. Nominators should be able to identify suitable candidates themselves, through existing organisational networks or by advertising if they wish. A nominator may wish to work with a separate UK organisation to actually host the Fellowship(s).

Scholarship Type: Research Fellowship for Commonwealth Scholarship

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

2014 applications for Commonwealth Professional Fellowships will be judged on the following criteria:

  • the extent to which the proposed Fellowship will ensure the transfer of skills relevant to the needs of a Commonwealth developing country
  • the extent to which those skills will lead to practical benefits for the developing country following the Fellowship
  • the extent to which the Fellowship will have a ‘catalytic effect’, either within the developing country concerned, or in establishing new relationships with the UK

Fellows must be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons and must be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country.

Fellows must normally have at least five years’ relevant work experience in the field within which they wish to undertake the Fellowship.

Number of Scholarships: Several

Value of Scholarship

A commonwealth Fellowship covers the living expenses for the Fellow as well as a return airfare to the UK. It also provides funding support to the host organisation, with a budget of up to £3,000 available for attendance at conferences, on short courses, and other eligible costs.

Duration of scholarship: Typically 3-months but could be extended to 6-months

Eligible Countries

Developing Commonwealth country

To be taken at: UK Universities

Application Deadline:

The closing date for applications for 2014 (Round 3) Commonwealth Professional Fellowships is 23.59 (GMT) on 18 September 2014.

Offered annually? Yes

How to Apply

Applications for Commonwealth Professional Fellowships must come from UK organisations – the CSC cannot accept any applications directly from prospective Fellows. CSC does cannot provide a list of organisations in the UK to which prospective Fellows can apply.

If you are a contact at a prospective host organisation interested in making an application, you will need to register to use the Electronic Application System (EAS). To do this, please write to the CSC on your organisation’s headed paper providing the full name and email address of the person who will make the application and who will act as the main contact should the Fellowship go ahead.

Visit the Scholarship Webpage details on how to apply


Department for International Development (DFID) UK

Important Notes:

Organisations that have been previously registered on the EAS can use the login and password already provided, but should email [email protected] to inform the CSC that you intend to make an application in 2013 (Round 2).

Subscribe to Receive Email Updates