Study for Masters and PhD in New Zealand through Commonwealth Scholarships 2013

Financial support opportunities for African students are not as common in New Zealand compared to countries like UK. However there are scholarship programmes students from Africa can partake in. Prospective students who want to study for Masters or PhD in New Zealand can take advantage of few scholarship programmes offered in this country

The Commonwealth Scholarship

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is an international programme under which member governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries. The CSFP was established at the first Commonwealth education conference in 1959 and is reviewed by education ministers at their triennial meetings – the only scholarship scheme in the world to receive such high-level recognition.

As part of the programme New Zealand offers Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s and PhD study.

Available New Zealand Universities

Commonwealth Scholarships awardees can only study at these New Zealand universities:

  • Auckland University of Technology
  • Lincoln University
  • Massey University
  • University of Auckland
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Otago
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • University of Waikato


Each Commonwealth government has designated a national agency for the operation of Commonwealth Scholarships.

Please contact the national agency in your home country for more information about applying for a Commonwealth Scholarship in another Commonwealth country.

Eligible Countries for the New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship


Botswana, Cameroon, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia


Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago


Bangladesh, India, Malaysia, Maldives and Sri Lanka


Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu

*Preference are given to candidates from disadvantaged communities

Other Scholarship Programmes in New Zealand for African Nationals

New Zealand Development Scholarships

The New Zealand Aid Programme and the New Zealand Government’s overseas aid and development programme offer the New Zealand Development Scholarships programme for Developing countries

Subscribe to Receive Email Updates